Meal Plans

April Meal Plan – Easter Edition

Home Well Managed Blog's Easter Edition meal plansIf you know me you know I love holidays.  And I mean ALL holidays, I don’t discriminate folks.  I blame my mother.  We just love an excuse to celebrate I suppose!  Every holiday our house was decorated to celebrate whatever holiday happened to fall on that month.  I can still remember swiping the gold chocolate coins from the upside down Leprechaun hat that sat on the coffee table for St. Patrick’s Day.  Except as the years went on I discovered that she never changed out the coins so it only took about two for me to break that habit.  Chocolate only tastes so appetizing when it’s stale you know?

This brings us to an early Easter memory of mine.  I am ALMOST positive that I’ve told my mother this so hopefully I’m not outing myself here.  My mom is a very creative person and her abilities extend to just about every type of craft imaginable.  One Easter season she went through a phase where she made a bunch of those sugar eggs.  I am sure there is a fancier name that I just do not know.  Anyway, they are egg shaped hardened sugar figurines with decorative frosting borders.  Cute mini frosting animals sat inside and all the frosting hardened and it was supposed to be for “decoration?”  Well, what 5 year old is going to see the logic in that?  My mother placed them up for Easter and I proceeded to take a lick of the back of the egg every chance I got.

I wish I could say I matured and didn’t do this the next few years as well… But by this point the back was less round.  Almost like someone licked it in the same spot every year.  I think part of me did it because I kept getting away with it.  Well, eventually I got sloppy.  That last year I neglected to make sure I had completely cleared my mouth of any Oreo residue before my annual sugar egg licking.  I panicked once I saw that the back of the white sugar egg had some darkened immediately, evidence of my lack of self control I suppose.  I promptly put it back and never touched the thing again.  Lesson learned?  In the end, they still really do look fantastic. Just don’t look at the back.

At the end of this meal plan I have included my plan for Easter Dinner as well.  I love Easter’s traditions and we always eat well. But above all, I am grateful for a day that encourages us to express gratitude for the sacrifice Christ made for us.  Even more, I love the celebration of his resurrection.  The Prince of Peace lives.

Home Well Managed Blog's Easter Meal Plan
Photo Credit – Sohl Design

Highlights

Ground Beef Stroganoff(GF noodles)

My husband served an LDS mission in Brasil and apparently their version of Stroganoff is “the best” and until this week, he had sworn off all Stroganoffs because they were all just disappointing (eye roll.)  Well I love any version, my mom made it a lot growing up, so I tried this new recipe for dinner and just expected him to eat it anyway because he loves me.  He loved it!  He actually told me after the first bite, and after his second helping.  I cannot say what is different about this specific recipe but it did the trick.  Winning!

Vegetarian Lasagna(GF noodles)

I am a meat and potatoes kind of girl at heart so a meal without meat never quite satisfies me, but I do it anyway because it is good for you to eat it “sparingly, ” whatever that means to you.  This lasagna was surprisingly delicious.  I added more cheese than it suggested because…cheese.  So I don’t know if I actually did my heart any favors on this one…

Take Note

Below the dinners I hope you’ll be thrilled to see a Snacks & Sweets section.  We usually have a dessert with Sunday dinners and I make a treat on Friday or Saturday.  Some of the recipes in this section I already absolutely love, and some I have yet to try.  Some are guilt free and some are reserved for cheat days, which tend to be Saturday and Sunday for me.  Happy snacking!

*-Tried and true family favorite.

GF- Gluten free

B4D-Breakfast for Dinner (There isn’t lot of time in the mornings and we love breakfast food so we eat it for dinner instead)

CP-Crockpot/Slow Cooker recipe

YoYo- You’re on your own. (Because I don’t believe that someone should have to cook every day of the week)

Not sold on meal planning yet? Check out my crash course guide and I’ll have you convinced!

Home Well Managed blog's Easter Edition meal plans
Photo Credit – Kayla Chandler

Let’s Eat

YoYo x2

Million Dollar Spaghetti Casserole(GF noodles)/ Garlic Bread/ Peas & Corn

Baked Apple Pork Chops and Green Beans(GF)

Slow Cooker Chicken and Mushroom Gravy(GF)/Quinoa/Roasted Broccoli

The recipe itself is not GF but you can substitute cornstarch for the flour.

Grain Free Meatloaf/ Mashed Potatoes/ Fried Zucchini

Gluten Free Perogies/ Steamed Veggies mix

Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Peanut Lime Sauce(GF)/ Cheese Bread/Green Beans

Slow Cooker Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce(GF)/ Rice

*Melt in Your Mouth Chicken Breasts(GF)/ Tossed Salad

BBQ-*Best Ever Grilled Burgers(GF)/Extra Crispy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

B4D-*Mountain Man/ *Healthy Oat & Blueberry Blender Muffins(GF)

B4D- *Protein Pancakes/ Turkey Bacon

My mother in law found this protein pancakes recipe when I was trying to up my protein intake a few years ago.  We’ve since then altered it a bit, its very flexible.  It’s our go to breakfast.  We usually double the recipe and it feeds two of us.  I like to top mine with peanut butter and bananas or yogurt and berries.

heaping 1/3 c oats             2 eggs

1/3 c cottage cheese          1/2 tsp vanilla

stevia to taste (optional)   cinnamon to taste (optional)

Put all ingredients in a blender and mix.  Cook like pancakes.

Easter Sunday Dinner-See Below:)

Home Well Managed blog's Easter Edition meal plans
Photo Credit – Texanerin Baking

Snacks & Sweets

Gluten Free Soft Pretzel Bites

Healthier Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Chocolate Candida Cookies

Home Well Managed blog's Easter Edition meal plans
Photo Credit – Yummy Healthy Easy

Easter Sunday Dinner

*Brown Sugar Glazed Ham

*Gluten Free Biscuits

Guacamole Stuffed Eggs

*Loaded Cauliflower “Mash” Bake

Rice Krispie Nests and/or Easter Nest Sugar Cookie Cups

Happy Easter planning! What will be on your dinner table Easter Sunday?

Leave a Reply

