Meal Plans

April Meal Plan 2

Home Well Managed Blog's April meal plansIf you have ever wandered over to my Start Here page (if not then I would love it if you would) then you would be well educated on my love for donuts.  I am not particular.  I love them fried or baked, frosted, or sugared, filled or plain.  Obviously these days donuts have not been much of an option for me now that I’ve had to go completely gluten free again.  I know GF eating has come a very long way but is it too soon to ask for some donut shops already?!  Someone please!

I have been whining about getting a donut pan so I could make my own donuts( does anyone know if it is doughnuts or donuts?) for some time now.  I know they aren’t terribly expensive but it was just one of those purchases that I knew was not a need.  So, instead I handled it like an adult and continued to whine about it… I just knew life could get better if I had one. I knew it!

The Easter Bunny heard me you guys! or…the husband got the hint and wanted me to shut up about it already.  I love him.  There it was Easter morning calling to me from my basket.  Yes, I have an Easter basket.  I strongly encourage adult Easter baskets.  My husband and I have a small limit and fill them with healthy snacks or small gifts.  Frankly, it is one more opportunity for me to give gifts.  It’s my love language FOR SURE.

Back to donuts…I was and still am in love with my new pan.  I instantly jumped on Pinterest to save ALL the GF baked donut recipes and then I hopped right up and got to baking.  Since Sunday I have made some simple almond flour donuts, and a carrot cake variety.  We have loved both.  So now you know why I have three donut recipes listed below to try.  MAKE ALL THE DONUTS!…there are some other varieties of food down there too I guess…

Home Well Managed Blog's April meal plans

Highlights

Easter Nest Sugar Cookie Cups

Pictured above were my version of the sugar cookie nests made for a friend’s BBQ potluck.  Everyone loved them and the only complaint I received was that they were too tiny so a person justifies eating more than necessary.  I’d call that a win 😉

Healthier Carrot Cake Cupcakes

UNBELIEVABLE…I’ve already made this recipe twice in the last week.  The last time I left out the icing and they were just delicious muffins.  They make a great breakfast and I can’t complain about the fact that my son is getting some veggies in as well.

Slow Cooker Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce(GF)

I have discovered that I love anything made with coconut milk.  This was a big winner and tasted authentic.

Take Note

Below the dinners I hope you’ll be thrilled to see a Snacks & Sweets section.  We usually have a dessert with Sunday dinners and I make a treat on Friday or Saturday.  Some of the recipes in this section I already absolutely love, and some I have yet to try.  Some are guilt free and some are reserved for cheat days, which tend to be Saturday and Sunday for me.  Happy snacking!

*-Tried and true family favorite.

GF- Gluten free

B4D-Breakfast for Dinner (There isn’t lot of time in the mornings and we love breakfast food so we eat it for dinner instead)

CP-Crockpot/Slow Cooker recipe

YoYo- You’re on your own. (Because I don’t believe that someone should have to cook every day of the week)

Not sold on meal planning yet? Check out my crash course guide and I’ll have you convinced!

Home Well Managed Blog's April meal plans
photo – Written Reality

Let’s Eat

YoYo x2

B4D- Mushroom, Spinach and Cheese Omelettes/ Banana Bread Donuts (GF)

I will be using the Pillsbury GF all purpose flour blend, substituting the sugar for Stevia and will not be making the glaze.

B4D-Bacon and Egg Rice Bowls/ *Every Day Healthy Green Smoothie

*Homemade Pizza (GF)

We have leftover red sauce in the fridge and frozen Bob’s Red Mill GF pizza dough in the freezer.  I prefer to make my own dough, but you can buy plain dough from Papa Murphy’s as well.  Our toppings will consist of pepperoni, Canadian bacon, cheese, and mushrooms.

*Pakistani Kima/ Brown Rice

*Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole/ Roasted Brussel Sprouts

I will be using the Pillsbury GF all purpose flour blend and substituting the crackers on top for a GF version.

*Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos/ Refried Beans/ *Brazilian Cheese Bread

*Spaghetti(GF noodles) & Gluten Free Meatballs/ Peas

This meatball recipe makes a ton so I usually only use a little over half and freeze the rest for another time.

*Slow Cooker Gluten Free Macaroni and Cheese/ Steamed Carrots & Peas

Vegetarian Chili/ *GF Cornbread

I FINALLY found a GF cornbread recipe that we like.  It comes from Elizabeth Barbone’s- How to Cook Gluten-Free

1 c gluten free cornmeal                    1/2 c white rice flour (I use brown rice)

1/2 c sweet rice flour                           1/4 c granulated sugar (I use half of this in Stevia)

1 tbsp baking powder                         1/2 tsp salt (omit this if using salted butter)

1/4 tsp xanthan gum                           2 large eggs

1 c milk                                                  2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease an 8-inch baking pan with spray.  Whisk together the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  Add the wet ingredients and mix until the batter is smooth.  Pour into the pan and bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean

Pad Thai

Pulled this recipe from one of my favorite cook books- 400 Calories or Less with Our Best Bites.  I plan to fry some chicken in sesame oil and garlic and add to this dish.

1/4 c water                                                 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 c tamarind or mango nectar            1 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice

3 tbsp soy sauce or fish sauce                 1/2-1 tsp siracha sauce

Sauce

1 12 oz package rice noodles                   pinch of salt

1 1/2 tsp olive oil (divided)                      1 8 oz package mung bean sprouts

2 tsp minced garlic                                   3 eggs beaten

1/4 c fresh cilantro chopped                   2 tsp water

1 1/2 limes cut into wedges                     1/4 c plus 2-3 tbsp green onions

1/4 c plus 2 tbsp roasted salted peanuts, chopped and divided

Bring 6 cups to a boil.  While the water is heating, whisk together the sauce ingredients and set aside.   When water begins to boil, place rice noodles in a medium sized heat safe bowl and pour water over noodles.  Let them stand 6-8 minutes, stirring halfway through.  Noodles should be done but not quite; they’ll finish cooking in the sauce.

While noodles are cooking heat 1 tsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and green onions  and cook for about 1 minutes until fragrant.  Heat the remaining 1/2 tsp oil in the pan.  When hot, add eggs, water, and salt and cook for about 30 seconds, then using a spatula, drag eggs across the pan to scramble them.  Cook until just scrambled then remove eggs and onions from the pan and set aside.

Add sauce ingredients to the pan and bring to a boil.  When noodles are done softening, rinse immediately in cold water, ,and add to the boiling sauce.  Add bean sprouts and 1/4 c chopped peanuts.  Cook until noodles are just barely tender.  Return eggs to the pan and toss to combine.  Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and peanuts.  Serve with lime wedges.

Roasted Asparagus and Mushroom Pasta in Lemon Cream Sauce (GF noodles)

Pulled this recipe from one of my favorite cook books- 400 Calories or Less with Our Best Bites

1 lb asparagus with ends snapped         1/2 tsp salt

4 c whole mushrooms                               1/4 tsp ground black pepper

2-3 lemons                                                   1/4 tsp creole or coarse grain mustard

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil                      8 oz uncooked linguine

1 1/2 c milk                                                   1 tbsp butter

1 1/2 cup low fat cream cheese                2/4 minced garlic cloves

1 1/2 tbsp flour (GF blend)                        3/4 c grated Parmesan cheese

3/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and set aside.  Combine asparagus and sliced mushrooms and set aside.  Zest lemons (enough to get 1 tbsp of zest) and set aside.  Juice lemons and strain 1/4 of the juice.  Combine the lemon juice,olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and mustard.  Drizzle over vegetables and toss to combine  Spread vegetables onto prepared baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes until asparagus is tender. Remove and allow to stand 5 minutes.

While vegetables are roasting, cook pasta according to package directions.  To prepare sauce, combine milk,cream cheese, flour, and salt in a blender and blend until smooth.  In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat and saute the garlic until fragrant.  Add the milk mixture and stir until bubbling and thickened.  Remove from heat and add Parmesan.  Cover and allow to stand a few minutes then remove the lid and add the reserved lemon zest.  When vegetables are done roasting you can either portion them out with noodles and sauce or toss all together.

Home Well Managed Blog's April meal plans
Photo – Chocolate Covered Katie

Snacks & Sweets

Homemade Date Chocolate Truffles

Double-Chocolate Glazed Doughnuts

Blueberry Baked Donuts-Refined Sugar Free

*Parmesan Kale Chips

 

8 thoughts on “April Meal Plan 2

Leave a Reply

