Meal Plans

Meal Plans Cinco de Mayo Edition

Home Well Managed Blog's Meal Plans

I love any excuse to make, eat, or buy Mexican food.  I blame it on my in-laws.  My husband’s family eats chips and salsa like it’s their job. A tradition I am proud to say I  take part in.  Some of my favorite conversations in that house take place around the kitchen island while we all catch up and double dip our chips or drop salsa on the counter.  Some of us like it hot, some of us just stick to the mild jar….yes that wimp is me.

Now that we are on our own out here in Cali I find that we eat enchiladas, tacos, taquitos, and sopes as often as we can.  Maybe because it reminds us of family, or maybe because it’s just delicious.  Either way it has become a tradition within our own little family that I’m sure is here to stay.  We are always on the hunt to find the next best recipe or restaurant.  It’s authentic Mexican here and I will surely miss that when our Cali days are done.

It is only by accident that I failed to post any Tacos on here.  I’m crazy for tacos.  Apparently that’s in right now.  I see meme’s all the time online talking about the love people have for tacos and I’m like, why so late to the party man?  In honor of Cinco de Mayo this meal plan is packed full with a few new Mexican food recipes I have yet to try and a few old faithfuls.  Enjoy! And remember to hold one hand under the chip and salsa.  Less food casualties that way.

What’s your favorite Mexican dish?

Take Note

I will no longer be adding the tag “GF” to any of the meals.  Everything I make now must be gluten free so if the dish’s original recipe uses a gluten substance I will explain how and what I substitute to make it GF.

Below the dinners I hope you’ll be thrilled to see a Snacks & Sweets section.  We usually have a dessert with Sunday dinners and I make a treat on Friday or Saturday.  Some of the recipes in this section I already absolutely love, and some I have yet to try.  Some are guilt free and some are reserved for cheat days, which tend to be Saturday and Sunday for me.  Happy snacking!

*-Tried and true family favorite.

B4D-Breakfast for Dinner (There isn’t lot of time in the mornings and we love breakfast food so we eat it for dinner instead)

CP-Crockpot/Slow Cooker recipe

YoYo- You’re on your own. (Because I don’t believe that someone should have to cook every day of the week)

Not sold on meal planning yet? Check out my crash course guide and I’ll have you convinced!

Home Well Managed Blog's Meal Plans - Chicken Pad Thai

Highlights

Vegetarian Chili

The husband and I were both pleasantly surprised with this dish.  I had to run out the door for a church activity and had to take it off the stove to eat 10 minutes early.  For only simmering half the recommended time it was a big win.  It had that cumin chili taste and I liked the little crunch from the zucchini.

Pad Thai

I posted a picture, like the one above,  of this on the Home Well Managed Instagram page because I was so pleased with how it turned out.  Not only did it look beautiful but it tasted exactly as I had hoped it would.

Homemade Date Chocolate Truffles

GREAT guilt free treat for my sweet tooth! I made a batch and tossed them in the freezer.  I’m sure I’ll eat at least one a day until they are gone.

Home Well Managed Blog's Meal Plans - Cinco de Mayo
Photo Credit – Yellow Bliss Road

Cinco De Mayo

Mexican Sopes

5 Minutes Restaurant Style Salsa

Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Crisps

Gluten Free Sopapillas

Mother’s Day Brunch

*Easy Breakfast Casserole

Strawberry Sunshine Smoothies

*Paleo Pumpkin Coffee Cake

*In Season Fruit Salad

I love to chop up a bunch of my favorite fruits and mix them all together.  For this one I plan on strawberries, blackberries, kiwi, bananas, and grapes.  You can throw in a little lime or lemon juice to enhance the flavors.

Home Well Managed Blog's Meal Plans - Cinco de Mayo Edition
Photo Credit – Gluten Free on a Shoestring

Let’s Eat

YoYo x2

B4D-Flourless Morning Glory Muffins/ Scrambled Eggs/ Smoothies

B4D- Farmer’s Casserole / Morning Banana Split

One Pot Chicken Thighs with Cilantro Lime Black Bean Rice

Spaghetti Squash Chow Mein / *Sweet and Sour Chicken

*Spiced Zucchini Beef/ Quinoa

*Honey Rosemary Pork Chops/Extra Crispy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

*Creamy Tomato and Spinach Pasta

*Easy Gluten Free Chicken Bacon Ranch Casserole/ Steamed Carrots

*Taco Rice / *Tortilla Bread Sticks

Tortilla Breadsticks

Use a pizza cutter to slice your corn or flour tortilla’s into inch wide strips and then cut those in half.  Season some olive oil or butter with paprika and salt and brush both sides of the strips.  Lay them flat on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees.  Flip tortillas over once to lightly brown both sides.  Do NOT let them get too dark or…yuck.

*Crock Pot Balsamic Pot Roast/ Potatoes/ Carrots/Butter Dip Buttermilk Biscuits

I plan to use the Pillsbury all purpose mix for the biscuits instead of the wheat flour and we will see how it turns out.  Finger’s crossed.  With the potatoes and carrots, just toss those in the crock pot with your meat to cook.

*5 Star Grilled Chicken/ Brown Rice/ Roasted Green Beans

This recipe comes from my “A Year With Six Sister’s Stuff” Cookbook. Not all teriyaki sauces are gluten free so check that if you need to.

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts               1/4 cup lemon juice

1 c teriyaki sauce                                                   2 cloves minced garlic

2 tsp sesame oil                                                      chopped green onions to garnish

Combine all ingredients but green onions into a large resealable bag and shake to coat the chicken.  Place in the fridge for 8-12 hours to marinate.  Turn the bag once during the day.  Grill 6-8 minutes on high heat.

Home Well Manged Blog's Meal Plans - Cinco de Mayo Edition
Photo Credit – What the Fork

Snacks & Sweets

*Banana Cookies

I use butter instead of shortening and an all purpose mix instead of flour.  I often skip out on the frosting but if you aren’t worried about the sugar content the frosting is yummy!

Gluten Free Devil’s Food Cake

Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake

Save

8 thoughts on “Meal Plans Cinco de Mayo Edition

  1. I love your meal planning!! I need to get better at mine. I’ve got about 4 days a week down pat, Any tips on how to get a full 7 day plan going?

    Like

    1. Ha sometimes it’s tricky I totally get it! My best advice is to just sit down and do it all at once! Have a plan for EVERY day. And if something comes up where you don’t end up making that meal it transfers over to the next week and that’s less groceries to buy next week. Winning!
      I sit down every two weeks and look at my calendar and write down any and all events that affect dinner those nights and plan what will be most convenient. Example, if I know I’m going to a late gym class I do a crockpot meal. Give yourself one day a week without a plan so you can eat leftovers/not have to cook.
      Hopefully that helps! I love this stuff so feel free to send any other questions my way! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. OH MY GOSH. I cannot wait to try these! We love all of these foods and it’s so nice to have healthy options!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by! We just had that casserole just the other night and it’s still a hit in ours! (Although I would suggest using real bacon vs turkey. It’s just not the same flavor)

      Like

  3. I love your blog, I recommend it to everyone I talk to about food (a lot more people than I thought). My family and friends have some favorites that they will ask for like spaghetti and meatball soup or slow cooker chicken coconut curry. You have made me love grocery shopping and meal prepping like I never thought I would. Thank you for making it so easy and yummy.

    Like

    1. Thank you a million times for taking the time to leave me this feedback. Just knowing it has made life easier and better for ONE person makes it absolutely worth all the effort. My goal is to help simplify this part of our lives and I’m so touched you let me know it works.

      Like

Leave a Reply

