Meal Plans

Meal Plans August #1

Home Well Managed Blog's August meal plansHello friend! It has been a while.  It has been a while since I have written a post or posted anything on social media.  It has been a while since I have searched for new GF/PCOS diet friendly recipes or wanted to bake anything at all for that matter.  It has been a while since I have had time for my hobbies that really add value to my life. (insert feeling sorry for myself emoji here)

The last two months have brought about it’s-about-time-hallelujah successes and some we-cant-catch-a-break discouragements for our family. One of those wins,  being a relocation for our family.  Trevor has accepted a district sales manager position and will be covering western Wisconsin, Northern Iowa, and the Southern Half of Minnesota.  He sells steel if you are curious.  I am positive there is more to it than that but that’s about all I can comprehend when he gets to explaining the details.  You can keep the “it’s cold there” comments to yourself because I’ve chosen to be in denial about it.

Home Well Managed Blog's meal plans
Photo Credit: Hyrum Slade

If you’re a type A (I feel like the A should stand for anal…) personality like me change, whether positive or negative, brings with it added stress and to do lists. Like really, I could win awards for the length of our “Before We Move” list.   Don’t get me wrong, we are pumped for our next adventure, but the in between transition can be quite awful.  Especially if the housing market there is overly competitive,  you still have nowhere to live,  your husband is gone training for a million years…many other details that are self pitying and pathetic….I’ll stop now.

So frankly, I just haven’t had the free time to keep up with this part of my life.  Sad isn’t it?  When things get hectic we tend to give up some of what brings us joy.  I am hoping that jumping back into blogging will aid my efforts in “counting my blessings” and “looking at the bright side. ”  I am glad to be back and I hope you have missed my meal plans as much as I have missed providing them for you.

Take Note

I will no longer be adding the tag “GF” to any of the meals.  Everything I make now must be gluten free so if the dish’s original recipe uses a gluten containing substance I will explain how and what I substitute to make it GF.

Below the dinners I hope you’ll be as thrilled as I to see a Snacks & Sweets section.  Some of the recipes in this section I already absolutely love, and some I have yet to try.  Some are guilt free and some are reserved for cheat days, which tend to be Saturday and Sunday for me.  Happy snacking!

*-Tried and true family favorite.

B4D-Breakfast for Dinner (There isn’t lot of time in the mornings and we love breakfast food so we eat it for dinner instead)

YoYo- You’re on your own. (Because I don’t believe that someone should have to cook every day of the week)

Not sold on meal planning yet? Check out my crash course guide and I’ll have you convinced!

Home Well Manged's August Meal Plans
Photo Credit: Skinny Taste

Let’s Eat

YoYo x2

B4D- *Blueberry Oatmeal Yogurt Pancakes / *Spinach, Mushroom and Cheese Omelettes

GF note: just use an all purpose GF blend instead of wheat flour

B4D- *Grain Free Baked Almond Donuts / Turkey Bacon/ Scrambled Cheesy Eggs

Note: I always add cinnamon and nutmeg to the donuts.  yum.

*Pakistani Kima/ Brown Rice

Note: We often substitute ground turkey

*Quinoa Fiesta Enchilada Bake/Warm Corn Tortillas

*Egg Salad Sandwiches/Side Salad

*Chicken Pot Pie Soup / Gluten Free Cheddar Bay Biscuits

*Skillet Lasagna / Roasted Green Beans

GF note: Make sure to use GF lasagna noodles

*PF Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps / *Better than Takeout Ham Fried Rice

Slow Cooker Filipino Adobo Pulled Pork/ Brown Rice/ Fried Zucchini

Homemade Hamburger Helper Cheeseburger Macaroni/ Peas

Caprese Chicken & Avocado Chopped Salad / *Easy Brazilian Cheese Bread

*Crock Pot BBQ Chicken/ *Roasted Sweet Potatoes/Corn on the Cob

Note:  To feed 6, place 5 chicken breasts in a slow cooker, Add diced onions, salt and pepper,  and enough BBQ sauce to coat chicken.  Cook low for 6-8 hours or high for 4.   Take chicken out, shred, and serve with as much BBQ sauce as desired.

Home Well Manged's August Meal Plans
Photo Credit: Buns in My Oven

Snacks & Sweets

*Glazed Chocolate Donuts

Note:  I would add a bit more sour cream or egg if using a GF flour blend so to not dry them out.

Oatmeal Cookie Dough Mug Cake

Baked Zucchini Parmesan Crisps

Leave a Reply

