Recipes

Darby’s French Bread Rolls

img_7078

There is nothing better than homemade bread. I’d fight anyone who says differently.  This recipe is my mother in law’s, who I understand received it from her mother.  If the recipe made it to the next generation you know it’s good. This bread was a staple at Wessman Sunday dinners when we lived near family and I requested the recipe a few years ago because I wanted to make people that happy.  Neighbors and friends also really love you when you drop these by their houses randomly.  Also, I should note that I have not fallen of the GF train.  The sad truth is that I don’t actually get to eat these anymore. It’s fine,  I just stick my nose really close to the pan as I pull them from the oven and inhale deeply. It’s almost the same…

Ingredients

  • 2 C warm water
  • 1 Tbsp yeast
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar ( I use brown sugar)
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 1/2-4 cups of flour

Instructions

  1. Pour warm water, yeast, and sugar into the mixer, stir a bit and let sit for a few minutes
  2. Add all other ingredients and then flour a 1/2 a cup at a time until dough is sticky, but not gooey and doesn’t stay on your fingers when you pull away.
  3. Knead for ten minutes and then cover bowl and allow to rise for 1/2 an hour.
  4. Form into rolls and place on a greased pan with some space in between.  Cover and allow to rise until doubled in size.
  5. Preheat oven for 400°.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes or until tops are golden.

img_7008

What toppings do you like to put on fresh baked bread? I’m a honey and butter type of girl.

Love People.  Make them Yummy Food.

One thought on “Darby’s French Bread Rolls

Leave a comment