Holiday · Home Management

A No Stress Easter Week Countdown

Home Well Managed Blog's Easter Countdown

There’s enough Easter tradition blog posts to send my holiday obsessed self into a tailspin, but these days after baby #2 I am aiming to simplify life a bit.  Hopefully you will find these activities and traditions are simple to plan but intentional in purpose, which is to remember the sacrifice our Savior made for us as well as the promise of resurrection after this life.   The real reason we celebrate Easter has nothing to do with a bunny, but he just makes it that much more fun so our daily activities have a little of both!

The idea for our countdown as well as some of the activities listed below I found in this article and on this podcast from Power of Mom’s.

Palm Sunday

Read Mathew 21 1-11  Shout Hosanna as kids take a turn riding Dad the “Donkey”

Watch The Lord’s Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem

Monday

Watch Ye Have Done it Unto Me video

You’ve been Egged by the Dating Divas- Monday nights are Family Night in our house.  This is a fun service activity that the entire family can get involved in.  Just try not to eat as much candy as I did as you fill the eggs…

Tuesday

Read John 10:10: “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

Dye Eggs-It is a Bulgarian tradition to dye the first egg red.  The red symbolizes death and the egg is meant to symbolize new life.  We usually invite another family over to dye eggs with us and it’s a party…if your idea of a party is children with multi-colored hands for the next few days.

Wednesday

Easter Egg Hunt Lunch from Gluesticks Blog- Bennett is two so this will be good practice for the actual Easter egg hunts later that week.

Read Mathew 25 Parables of the Talents and the Ten Virgins

Watch The Ten Virgins

Watch The Parable of the Talents

Thursday

Passover supper- There is a HUGE amount of ideas for this.  The idea is to eat a dinner as people would have eaten in the bible.  Our spread will consist of cucumbers, carrots, apples, crackers, a few different cheeses, mangoes, and grape juice.  We will sit on the floor as well, which I’m sure Bennett will love.

Mathew 26:17-46 (Last Supper and Gethsemane)

Watch The Last Supper video

Watch The Savior Suffers in Gethsemane video

Good Friday

Read Mathew 27 Christ’s Death -Discuss why what Jesus did for us was good

Watch Jesus is Scourged and Crucified- This video is pretty intense so I suggest this one for littles

Pom Pom Easter Egg craft from Crafty Morning

Easter Egg Hubby Hunt from Dating Divas

Saturday

Easter Egg hunts- If like us, you don’t have family around you could plan a neighborhood hunt at a close by park or someone’s yard. Our community has a few churches that hold free hunts as well as a nearby local farm.

Make deviled eggs with whatever dyed eggs are left and have a picnic lunch at a park

Easter Sunday

Resurrection Eggs for Toddlers from Happy Home Fairy

Watch He is Risen

Easter baskets-I want Easter Sunday to be about Jesus but we still do Easter baskets.  We always get new clothes with our baskets (Yes Trevor and I do baskets for one another because gifting is my love language) to wear to church for Easter so the baskets make the most sense for Sunday.  I usually fill the baskets with one item they need, a snack or treat we don’t usually get, and a small surprise gift. I think this year we will fill some of Bennett’s basket eggs with pennies or nickels.  He’s ALL about the “monies” right now.  Now that I think about it maybe I should get him a piggy bank… Last year Trevor bought me a donut pan and it rocked my world.

If you need some inspiration for non candy basket fillers for littles, here are some links from Southern Made Simple and Toot’s Mom is Tired 

Here is a massive list for all ages from Mom Needs Chocolate.  Also the Target dollar spot is a big hit for inexpensive basket fillers

I didn’t forget the adults!  We appreciate a visit from the Easter Bunny too!  Theme baskets – example: exercise, specific hobbies, date night, are always fun.  This round up from Best of Life has a lot of ideas

Home Well Manged Blog's Easter Countdown

Easter Sunday Eats

I just woudldn’t be myself if I didn’t include a holiday meal plan.  I love any excuse to put on a feast.  This year we are having vegan friends over and this is what will be on the table.    I’ve included our classic favorites as well. I’m making the carrot cake, but I included two other REALLY yummy dessert options we had last year in case cake with vegetables isn’t your thing 😉

Brown Sugar Glazed Ham

Best Ever Vegan Sweet Potato Casserole or Sweet Potato Casserole   (I use stevia instead of coconut sugar

Cranberry Apple Pecan Salad

Dairy Free Herbed Scalloped Potatoes or Cheesy Funeral Potatoes (just use a white rice flour in going for gluten free version)

Vegan Gluten Free Carrot Cake or   Healthier Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Easter Nest Sugar Cookie Cups

Darby’s French Bread Rolls

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2 C warm water

1 Tbsp yeast

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp sugar(I use brown)

2 tbsp oil

about 3 1/2-4 cups flour-until not sticky

Knead at least 10 minutes and let raise 1/2 hour.  Form into roll and put in the pan with some space in between. Let raise for 10-15 minutes.  Bake 10 minutes or until tops are golden.

I’m sure our traditions will evolve from year to year but I think we are off to a great start!  What are some of your favorite Easter traditions?  Share in the comments!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A No Stress Easter Week Countdown

  1. Great idea for a Countdown to Easter! Love those cookie cups, they look delish! We have baskets at our house too, super fun for the kids!!

    Like

  2. I love all these awesome ideas! And I need to start gifting outfits to my husband for Easter too.

    Like

Leave a comment